December 13, 2016

Planning opportunities and a strong future for the Hawkesbury region are at the forefront for recently elected Mayor of Hawkesbury, Councillor Mary Lyons-Buckett.

My aim is to secure and develop a strong and viable future for the Hawkesbury,” she says.

One of the new Council’s first tasks will be to consider the results of the community engagement program, ‘Listening to our community Your Services – Your Say’ and review the Hawkesbury Community Strategic Plan.

“The work we do over the next four years for our community determines the future path of the Hawkesbury as well as this Council’s identity and autonomy.”

Recent changes to legislation provides for the Mayor to hold the position for a two-year term and the new Deputy Mayor, Councillor Barry Calvert, will also hold the position for the same period.

Councillor Lyons-Buckett says she is looking forward to fulfilling her appointed role over the next two years.

She says she’s keen to work collaboratively with her fellow councillors, community members and Council staff to ensure that Council is working together with the community to build a successful future for the Hawkesbury.

The Hawkesbury is unique. We don’t want to be pressured to over-develop our beautiful region or see the Hawkesbury Local Government Area split up,” she says.

Councillor Lyons-Buckett will work alongside seven newly elected Councillors, Emma-Jane Garrow, Amanda Kotlash, Peter Reynolds, Sarah Richards, John Ross, Danielle Wheeler and Nathan Zamprogno, as well as the four re-elected councillors Barry Calvert, Patrick Conolly, Paul Rasmussen and Tiffany Tree.


Expect more at Vermont

Back to blog